Shanghai Serviced Apartments, Shanghai Property, Shanghai Relocation, Shanghai Apartments, Shanghai Advice

Options for sending 20,000RMB in cash back home

Posted by sandia911 (3005 days ago)

Options for sending 20,000RMB in cash back home

Hey,

I made quite a bit of cash teaching private English lessons in China. Now, I have a whole brick of RMB (Chinese money) and would like to send it back to Canada. I don't want to open a bank account in Asia, because I'm leaving this continent soon for America. I wish to deposit the money in my Canadian account and use my Interac debit card to withdrawl small amounts as I need it . I don't want to travel with a lot of cash.

So, logically, the only option that I could think of is to send the money back home via a some sort of easy, quick, or cheap transfer method.

I've never done this before, so I'd like to here from some people who've sent money to your home account from Asia before (Shanghai, specifically), cause I'm here now.

Is it just a matter of showing up at any Chinese bank and paying the fee, show your passport, show your bank account details and off it goes?

Is there a maximum limit? I have close 20,000RMB I'd like to send home.

By the way, I hate avoidable bank fees and prefer to bypass them if possible - both here in China and back home.

Let me know what you think is the best way to go about this.

Thanks

#1 Posted by krobert999 (3004 days ago)

From what I know, you need to go about buying US or Canadian dollars because you are not allowed to take that much RMB out of the country and if you try to transfer that amount within one month, there may also be some questions (not counting the fact that there WILL be transfer charges).

#2 Posted by Panpanjungle (3004 days ago)

Hi,